Fr. James Carter, S.J., stepped down as president of Loyola and was succeeded in 1995 by Fr. Bernard Knoth, S.J. During his presidency, Knoth accomplished unprecedented feats of fundraising. In 1995, the West Road Garage was constructed, and in 1996, ground was broken for the J. Edgar and Louise S. Monroe Library. Along with Loyola's changing physical appearance, its name was officially changed in 1996 to Loyola University New Orleans to distinguish it from other Jesuit insititutions with similar names and to emphasize its location in one of America's most unique cities. In the summer of 1999, a four-story residence hall later named Carrollton Hall with suites and apartments for 323 students was completed. As facilities on campus grew and were improved, technology available on campus was improving. Access to online databases was expanded, laboratories were modernized, and classrooms with multimedia capacity were developed.

Recent Galleries